Bookish Time Travel Tag

Thank you Ms. Arachne at A Canon of one’s own for the tag! I love historical fiction, so this will be fun! Also check out The Library Lizard’s blog too see where this tag began.

What is your favourite historical setting for a book?

Probably early America, but also anytime in English history and I also love reading about ancient Egypt.

What writer/s would you like to travel back in time to meet?

Henry David Thoreau and maybe Emily Dickinson  (if she would talk to me) and also Edith Wharton. I feel like I recently met Edith Wharton when I read The Age Of Innocence and I would like to get to know her more.

What book/s would you travel back in time and give to your younger self?

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett. It is such a beautiful story of friendship and transformation.

 What book/s would you travel forward in time and give to your older self? Weird question, I know. But what I meant by it was more along the lines of โ€“ what book do you want to remind your older self of because it was really important to you?

For this question I would have to say it would be a book of poetry: The Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson. There was a time when I read her poems, in this volume of poetry, all the time! It would remind me of that period in my life.

What is your favourite futuristic setting from a book?

I can’t think of a “favorite futuristic setting” but the most memorable would be A Brave New World by Aldous Huxley. If you have read this book, can you forget this society of order and control that restricts and punishes individual choice?

What is your favourite book that is set in a different time period (can be historical or futuristic)?

I loved Year of Wonders by Geraldine Brooks. It was about the plague in 17th century England and a village who took drastic steps not to spread contagion. It is also about a young woman’s journey to her own personal freedom and it has an ending that will completely surprise you.

 Spoiler Time: Do you ever skip ahead to the end of a book just to see what happens?

Sometimes I do, but not very often. I want to enjoy getting to the end.

If you had a Time Turner, where would you go and what would you do?

I would love to be part of the transcendental movement of early 19th century America. 

Favourite book (if you have one) that includes time travel or takes place in multiple time periods?

I love dual narratives and The Perfume Collector by Kathleen Tessaro has a dual narrative story that I loved. It is the story of two women, both on their own individual journey, of loss and heartache for one woman and of self discovery for the other, and how their lives intersect in an, albeit not surprising, but still very interesting way.

What book/series do you wish you could go back and read again for the first time?

This answer will be a repeat. It would have to be The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett. This is one of my favorite books and it would be sweet to read it again for the first time.

This tag helped me to think about some books that I haven’t read in a while and it was fun to remember them. ๐Ÿ™‚

So, I tag the following bloggers if this sounds interesting to them:

Laurie at Relevant Obscurity

Sally at Books by the Window

And anyone else who thinks this looks fun!

6 thoughts on “Bookish Time Travel Tag

  1. I’m so glad you enjoyed the tag. Your answers are wonderful. And, of course, I’m adding to my TBR list again (The Year of Wonders sounds fantastic.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks! And, yes, Year of Wonders was fantastic. I think it is a book you would really enjoy! I would love to read your thoughts on it after you read it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I enjoyed reading your answers, BJ ๐Ÿ™‚ I also love the transcendental movement. I feel I know so little about it but perhaps next year will be the time to put that right ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you, Sandra! I enjoyed your answers too! It was obvious you took some to really think about the questions had fun with it too! And some of your answers were just beautiful. ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope you get to spend some time next year reading more from the transcendental movement. I would love to read your thoughts on your selected readings when you do! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

What would you add?

