Reading update

Hello, Book Lovers!

It’s been a little bit since I’ve posted anything so I thought a quick ‘reading’ check in would be a good idea.

I am currently reading The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton, but, during the last month, I have also been reading other books.

I recently read both Nefertiti and The Heretic Queen by Michelle Moran. I enjoyed Nefertiti very much and The Heretic Queen was a fun and enjoyable read, but I didn’t have that much to say about it so I didn’t blog about it. Have any of you out there in the book blogging community  ever read a book and then not blogged about it? If so, which book and why?

I also picked up a science book: How to Read the Solar System by Chris North and Paul Abel. I haven’t finished it yet-I’m trying to finish Wharton first- and this is also a book that I will most likely not blog about; it is just so interesting to me to learn more about our solar system. It is such a harsh and brutal world out there, yet it’s  filled with such amazing diversity and a ‘life’ of its own.  We may not have found life as we understand it on another planet yet, but what we have learned so far is pretty amazing. Each planet is so unique with its own individual chemical make up and atmosphere, combined with the force of gravity and the role of nuclear fusion in creating life…it’s all pretty fascinating!

In addition to reading, I also recently watched The Pillars of the  Earth miniseries. It was a “Sunday Recommendation” from Clemi @ Clemireads  who recommended it for fans of Game of Thrones. A few interesting takeaways from the series are just how significant a role the Catholic Church played in the lives of people during the Middle Ages and also the skill, labor and craftsmanship that went into building a cathedral. Many worked for the glory of God and others to create something that would stand the test of time. Either way, these cathedrals are a beautiful testimony to their labor of love. Also, there is some good history about the Plantagenots, it may not all be exactly true to history, but the main points are there. I found this out today at the bookstore. I picked up The Plantagenots by Dan Jones and I read a similar story to the one I just watched…so I bought the book to learn more about that time and the people involved!

Now, I really do have more books than time to read them. I may need to take some time off at work just to catch up on my reading :).

How about you? What have you been reading, watching and learning about recently? Tell me in the comments below.

6 thoughts on “Reading update

  1. I’m looking forward to your post about The Age of Innocence (haven’t read it yet). Go ahead and blog about the book on the solar system. I loved your posts on the Dava Sobel books. 🙂

    I fell behind in August but am hoping to catch up with my grand “late summer reading” plans now that September is here. (oops!) Tomorrow I start reading Tigers Are Better-Looking by Jean Rhys for #ReadingRhys.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the encouragement! I may blog about that book on the solar system after all; I have definitely enjoyed reading and learning more about the cosmos 🙂 !

    I know how easy it is to fall behind, and I look forward to reading more about your upcoming plans- I always enjoy reading your posts and appreciate your focus on female authors!

    Liked by 1 person

What would you add?

