Third Check-In: Women’s Classic Literature Event 2016

Looking back at what I have read this year, even I questioned if I was still participating in this event. My answer: absolutely!
Elizabeth Gaskell, Jane Austen, Zora Neale Hurson, George Eliot, Rose Wilder Lane, Louisa May Alcott, & Virginia Woolf.

I signed up to participate in The Women’s Classic Literature Event starting in January 2016, but, sadly, I realized that I have only read one book on my list: The Good Earth by Pearl S. Buck. How did this happen? It happened because I picked up a few books for the sheer enjoyment of reading them or to learn something new. After all, this is what makes reading so much fun!

The books I’ve read this year have given me a richer understanding of the people and places I have read about. In The Traitors Wife,  I learned more about Martha Carrier who would later tragically get caught up in the Salem Witch trials in Colonial New England.  In Galileo’s Daughter, I learned about this great man of science who faced the Roman Inquisition in 17th century Italy. These were individuals who lived and struggled to be themselves and to make their own contributions in a society that expected conformity.

Earlier this year, I blogged through The Good Earth by Pearl S. Buck who vividly portrayed yet another society in pre-revolutionary China. It depicted a harsh and often brutal society where land was life sustaining for some, while others struggled to survive and daughters were born into slavery.

After my last book, I had planned to return to the classics, but I had science on the brain and took a detour. So, once I finish my current book, The Planets by Dava Sobel, I will be returning to the wonderful world of Classic Literature. I’m thinking about reading The Age Of Innocence by Edith Wharton next. I haven’t read any of her books yet and I am looking forward to learning more about her and reading about her New York society life and the people who were part of the culture of The Gilded Age. It promises to be a great read!

Until next time, Happy Reading, Everyone !!

4 thoughts on “Third Check-In: Women’s Classic Literature Event 2016

  1. The Age of Innocence is WONDERFUL. My personal favorite by Wharton is The House of Mirth — so far. I have The Custom of the Country on my list. The heroine is sometimes compared to Scarlett O’Hara…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome! I’m hoping for a ‘wonderful’ read and something tells me that I won’t be disappointed.
    I’ll bet reading The Custom of the Country will be great fun for you…I look forward to reading your thoughts on it afterwards :).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The books by Kathleen Kent and Dava Sobel aren’t “classics,” but they are still books by women writers, so that sort of counts, right? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

What would you add?

