Classics Club: First Check-In for the Women’s Classic Literature Event 2016

First Check-In: Women’s Classic Literature Event 2016.

Our first group question: Without revealing spoilers (obviously), describe how the opening of your current read for this event draws you in. Is it the language? the suspense? the voice? Why are you compelled to keep reading?

Elizabeth Gaskell, Jane Austen, Zora Neale Hurson, George Eliot, Rose Wilder Lane, Louisa May Alcott, & Virginia Woolf.

I know,  I am really behind schedule for this event, but I’m finally ready to participate and excited about the books I will be reading and writing about this year.

Without revealing spoilers (obviously), describe how the opening of your current read for this event draws you in.

The Good Earth by Pearl S. Buck opens with a “Marriage Day” so it should be a time of rejoicing and celebration, right? But as I continue reading, I see that although Wang Lung is excited about this day, it’s not the joyous kind of celebration that I associate with a ‘wedding day’, which puzzles me, so I keep reading in order to understand why. Then I read something that really grabs my attention (and not in a good way): once there is a woman in the house again Wang Lung won’t be required to perform certain duties anymore because ‘the woman’ will assume those responsibilities. What? Is he serious?  What kind of a marriage is this? And what kind of a woman is he marrying?

I now want to know more about this woman and to find out as much as I can about her. I initially questioned why marriage was portrayed as a man getting a wife and a servant? Did he have any love for her? What was their ‘story’? The answers to these questions were truly eye opening and offered a glimpse into the history and culture of that time.

Have you read this book? What do you think about the opening scene? Was there a certain character you wanted to learn more about? Tell me in the comments below.

 

4 thoughts on “Classics Club: First Check-In for the Women’s Classic Literature Event 2016

  1. what surprise? marriage isn’t about getting a servant? not reading your bible very well, missy! seriously folks, for millennia, marriage for a woman was exactly that, becoming the chattel property and house maid (with ‘priveledges’ if you know what i mean) for a man… see even the older tv shows I Love Lucy for how ricky treats lucy and fred treats Ethel.
    it’s only been in recent decades that equality and egalitarian ideas of ‘marital partnership’ have supplanted the antiquated ideas of ‘servant wives’.
    but i’m looking forward to “the rest of the story” ala Paul Harvey as you continue to post about the book. thx for hanging in there and sticking it out, even though it’s easy to fall behind.
    -KIA

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know, what was I thinking? I clearly approached this book with more modern sensibilities. Thankfully, our view of marriage has changed over the years, but your right, even those old TV shows portray a stereotypical view of women and marriage. I’m thankful we live in a new day– at least here in the West anyhow.

    Liked by 1 person

What would you add?

