Touching Base: 2016 Reading Plan

Hi There.  Yes, I’m still here 🙂 .

I know that I’ve been pretty quiet these last few weeks; December has definitely been a slow reading month for me. I started a few books that I never finished and then right around Christmas I picked up The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd which I am really enjoying.

My plan right now is to finish reading The Secret Life of Bees, post my review of it, and then launch into January by reading The Good Earth by Pearl S. Buck for the Women’s Classic Literature Event. Originally I said that I would start January with a review of The Good Earth, but I think that I want to dig into the book a little more.  This will actually be a re-read for me and although I remember enjoying the book the first time I read it, I also thought it was sad. Life in pre-revolutionary China was very hard.

I also remember that there were quite a few ‘earth’ related themes that ran throughout the book: land, food, wealth. So I think I will blog through the book, digging in and exploring the different themes and hidden gems buried beneath the surface.

As I mentioned, I will also be participating in the Women’s Classic Literature Event and I have created a new page listing the books I plan to read for that event. I also have a few other books I want to read in 2016:

My husband gave me this book for Christmas and I can’t wait to start reading it!

Yes, I’m a Ken Follett fan and my sweet hubby also gave me this book for Christmas. I was unfamiliar with this book, so it was great fun opening it and discovering a ‘new’ Ken Follett book. I look forward to reading this in 2016 as well.

This book looks really good and I’m currently reading and enjoying  The Secret Life of Bees, so why not?

I’ve had my eye on this book since summer! I almost borrowed it from the library, but then decided to read something I already had on my bookshelf. Well, I recently picked this up at a second hand bookstore, so now it IS on my bookshelf 🙂 !

I found out about this book from Jane’s review.

I heard about this one from Jillian at readingamericanleaves.wordpress.com, who is currently offline, it was on a few of her lists. I hope I can find it in 2016.

This list is by no means all inclusive, but I think its a great reading plan and should keep me busy and reading well in 2016.

 

6 thoughts on “Touching Base: 2016 Reading Plan

  1. Hi Sally and thanks for the comment :). I’m really enjoying The Secret Life of Bees. It’s so good I almost hate to put it down so I can take care of other things.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yay! I am so excited for you to read The Little Paris Bookshop. It really is lovely. Post your review on my blog when you finish it! I would love to hear your thoughts 🙂

    And I am glad you are enjoying The Secret Life of Bees–that is the only Sue Monk Kidd book I have read, but I really enjoyed it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I actually saw The Little Paris Bookshop at Barnes and Noble this weekend and I picked it up, but I had to exercise some discipline as I’m a few books behind, so I just briefly looked at it… Knowing where to find it when I’m ready to read it :).
    I’m not quite sure how to post a review on someone else’s blog (just comments), unless you reblog it, but I’m looking forward to reading and writing about it this year 🙂 !

    Liked by 1 person

What would you add?

