The Classics Club: Women’s Classic Literature Event

Elizabeth Gaskell, Jane Austen, Zora Neale Hurson, George Eliot, Rose Wilder Lane, Louisa May Alcott, & Virginia Woolf.

Last month I signed up for the ‘Women’s Classic Literature Event’ and said that I would post my list closer to my January start date, and so without further ado here it is:

The Good Earth by Pearl S Buck

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

My Antonia by Willa Cather

Oh Pioneers by Willa Cather

Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

The Awakening by Kate Chopin

Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte

The yellow Wallpaper (short story) by Charlotte Perkins Gilman

I am so excited to be participating in this awesome event! I love the Classics and look forward to reading, sharing and discussing these books with others. I hope to learn a few new things about some old favorites and discover some unknown ‘gems’ along the way that will become ‘must reads’ for me in the future.

Since this is my first ‘Classic event’ I don’t quite have a game plan yet. In January I will review The Good Earth by Pearl S Buck, but in February, or when I finish that book, I may host a Little Women read-along.  My thoughts right now are to alternate between book reviews and read-alongs, but I will keep you posted on the reading plan for each book.

So, please join me as I begin my foray into the world of blogging about Classics with a review of The Good Earth by Pearl S Buck.

Stay tuned and continue to stop by for any updates, comments and discussions… this is going to be a fun year!

6 thoughts on “The Classics Club: Women’s Classic Literature Event

  1. Hi, I’m so glad you stopped by! That would be fun if you read The Good Earth in January, then we could compare notes :). But if not, you already have some pretty good reading selections. I will definitely stop by your blog to hear more… Especially Wharton.

    Like

  2. I thought I had commented on this! I remember reading it. 🙂 Anyway, just to say — enjoy! Such great titles! Little Women! The Secret Garden! EDITH WHARTON! ANNE BRONTE. Magic. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks! I’m planning on having fun reading and blogging about those books next year! You should look into the event over at the classics club. Since your recent post was a good review on another classic, it might be something you would enjoy 🙂

    Like

What would you add?

